Dave Everyday

A journal of my everyday life

December 3rd – Future self

Ok been a few days here, what else is new.

After some deliberation, I decided to uninstall World of Warcraft last night. I figure that considering I just quit my job, and am trying to figure out what I am going to do with the rest of my life, it only makes sense to devote a bit more time to that and a bit less to battling the Scourge in Northrend. I’ll probably come back to it in January, once I’m in a new job and on track to figure out where I am going (more on that later). I made it to level 78 which isn’t bad. I’ll get up to 80 in January.

Then today I went to work and had a pretty good day. It’s hard to stay focused on getting stuff done when I know I will be leaving soon, but I am trying to still be a good employee dispite the fact I will be leaving in 2 weeks. Oh, I should mention now then that I will be done my job on the 12th of December, next Friday. Sweet. Today also a potential replacement for me was interviewed and I got to meet her. She seems like a good candidate, we’ll see what happens.

At lunch today I played around with animoto, which is a web app that creates an automatic, awesome looking slideshow from photos and audio. I brought in a Peter Bjorn and John song and a bunch of pictures of me (I can be a bit narcissistic sometimes), and gave it a try. This is what came out:

I don’t 100% love it, but I think it’s pretty cool considering it took all of 3 minutes. I think I’ll play around with it a bit more over time to make a few other ones.

Ok, so on to life. Over the weekend I spent a lot of time thinking and researching ideas for what I want to do with my life and one idea I’ve come up with is something along the lines of Interactive Design/Information Architecture/User Experience Design. There are so many jargo words for these things, but ultimately what I am interested in is how people interact with technology, and how technology can become more accesable to everyone. But of course I don’t really know how to do that. But I found a really cool program in Vancouver that teaches just this- Interactive Design at Capilano College. So I’m thinking about applying and seeing how it goes. It wouldn’t start until September, so I have a lot of time to get myself a bit more web design savvy before I apply. I also got in contact with some of the recent grads from the program and am going to ask them a bunch of questions to see if it will be what I think it will be.

It’s also a cool idea because Jess and I have always talked about moving to Vancouver at some point, when the opportunity presented itself. Well, the opportunity may have presented itself.

Oh, and for the time being, until September, I am thinking I will just get a simple coffee shop type job so I can interact with people again and then also have some free time to pursue more web based ideas; maybe some podcasting, definately some CSS editing, other things as I come up with them…

Filed under: Uncategorized, , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment