Dave Everyday

A journal of my everyday life

December 9th – Don’t lick envelopes

Last night I had to help Jess assemble her company’s Xmas cards. We had stacks of labels, envelopes, and cards, and had to put it all together. It was a lot of fun! The kind of fun you hope you never have to experience again. I was in charge of putting the cards in the envelope and sealing them. Fortunately we had one of those water tube stamp wetting thingamajigs because I tried to lick the first one and I’m fairly certain it poisoned me. I started to feel really sick shortly after licking one, and was pretty miserable for the rest of the night. But I still helped her out with it, we just sat on the floor, set the laptop up with some Seinfeild episodes (almost done season 5), and packaged envelopes like it was our job.

In other news from the past couple days, I got my haircut on Saturday at London Hair Design on South Park. It’s really short now. Jess knows the guy who cut our hair (yes, we get our hair cut at the same time by the same person) because he is opening up a new hair salon in Bishop’s Landing soon. I think it is going be called something like Urbanity, but I could be wrong on that. Regardless, his name was Keagan, and I would highly recommend people in Halifax check the place out when it opens, because he did a really good job.

I had this realization about haircutting while I was there, which is that of all the areas of design (and I would say haircutting is about design), cutting hair is one of the few remaining fields where your work has to be right the first time. Photographers are now off the hook with that, web designers never had that, magazine and newspaper designers now always have an undo button, but if you mess up with hair it’s gone. You have to adapt as you go. Kind of interesting, maybe that is why people enjoy it.

And on Sunday I went out with a friend to the mall and bought a few Christmas presents for Jess. Hopefully she will like them. Shopping with 2 guys is easy, we went into the mall, went straight for the stores we wanted to hit and got what we wanted within 20 minutes.

And tonight I am going out for dinner with Jess and 2 of her friends from work. I was going to stay home but we are out of food, so I suppose I can join.

Filed under: Everyday